2023 National Philanthropy Day Winners

Posted on

2023 National Philanthropy Day Winners

CapDev celebrates all those who share their time, talents, and resources with the many organizations and institutions who comprise our social sector – doing good to make our world a better place.

This month Association of Fundraising Professionals (AFP) chapters around the country recognize and honor giving in our “National Philanthropy Day” (NPD) events. We are honored to join in sponsoring and attending three AFP chapters’ celebrations this year (Cape Fear, Triangle, and Triad, NC).

Below is a compilation of NPD award winners from around our region. We hope to have more to add as they are posted and shared by AFP chapters.

NC, Cape Fear Region:

  • Outstanding Philanthropist: Ken Dull
  • Outstanding Fundraiser: Katie Tate

NC, Charlotte:

  • Outstanding Fundraising Executive: Mike Blackwelder, CFRE
  • Outstanding Philanthropic Small Business: Harker, LLC
  • Outstanding Philanthropic Organization: Crowder Constructors
  • Outstanding Emerging Philanthropist: Michelle Chin
  • Outstanding Philanthropist: Tom and Heather Finke
  • Outstanding Volunteer Fundraiser: Harvey Gantt and Heath Campbell
  • Outstanding Champion of Diversity: Laura Yates Clark
  • Outstanding Student Philanthropist: Kobe Brown
  • Outstanding Legacy: Bill Barnhardt

NC, Triad:

  • Lifetime Achievement in Philanthropy: Charlie and Mary Kirkman Routh
  • Outstanding Philanthropist, Greensboro: Marcia Sears Regan
  • Outstanding Philanthropist, Winston-Salem: Andy Brown
  • Outstanding Youth in Philanthropy: Rebecca Avila
  • Outstanding Fundraising Professional: Michael Darrow
  • Outstanding Business in Philanthropy, Greensboro: Zeto
  • Outstanding Business in Philanthropy, Winston-Salem: The Budd Group
  • Outstanding Philanthropic Organization, Greensboro: Cemala Foundation
  • Outstanding Philanthropic Organization, Winston-Salem: Tom Davis Fund
  • Outstanding Volunteer Fundraiser, Davidson County: Mary Jane Akerman
  • Outstanding Volunteer Fundraiser, Greensboro: Wayne Young
  • IDEA Award Greensboro: Toiya L. Hancock and Black Alumni of Guilford College
  • IDEA Award, Winston-Salem: Cheryl Lindsay

NC, Triangle:

  • Outstanding Fundraiser of the Year: Lisa Mead
  • Community Nonprofit Impact Award: El Centro
  • Outstanding Young Philanthropist: Lily Davis Horne
  • “The Ripple Award” (formerly the Outstanding Philanthropist Award): Gipson Family Foundation
  • Outstanding Corporate Philanthropist: Lenovo

NC, Western:

  • Outstanding Business: Mosaic Community Lifestyle Realty
  • Outstanding Organization: AMY Wellness Foundation
  • Outstanding Volunteer Fundraiser: Mark Collins
  • Outstanding Professional Fundraiser: Mark Weinstein
  • Kennon Roberson Health and Human Services Executive: Kenyon Lake
  • Outstanding Philanthropists: Cassie Dillon and Drs. Tom and Joanne Parker
  • Summit Awards: Charlotte Lunsford Berry and Jeff Miller

SC, Central:

  • Outstanding Corporation: Southeastern Freight Lines and its Employees
  • Outstanding Fundraising Executive: Jennifer McCormack
  • Outstanding Marketing Professional in Support of Philanthropy: Bill Grant
  • Outstanding Philanthropist: Dr. Charlotte Lindler Ellis
  • Outstanding Rising Star: Cassidy Green
  • Outstanding Volunteer Fundraisers: Tod Augsburger and Brittany Owen, CPA

SC, Lowcountry:

  • Outstanding Philanthropist: Carolyn Murray, News 2
  • Outstanding Organization: The Junior League of Charleston
  • Outstanding Foundation: The Gaylord & Dorothy Donnelley Foundation
  • Outstanding Corporation: Shelly Leeke Law Firm

SC Piedmont: not yet posted

VA, Blueridge: not posted

VA, Central:

  • Enduring Spirit of Philanthropy Award: Burt Pinnock
  • Outstanding Organizational Partner Award: RiverFront Investment Group
  • Volunteer Impact Award: Suzanne T. Long

VA, Hampton Roads:

  • Outstanding Philanthropist – Individual or Family: Captain Jim and Pat Stallings
  • Outstanding Philanthropist – Organization or Corporation: Bay Power Solutions
  • Outstanding Fundraising Volunteer: Lynn Cobb
  • Outstanding Fundraising Innovator – Individual or Organization: Samaritan House
  • Outstanding Nonprofit Leader: Debbie Stitzer-Brame
  • Outstanding Fundraising Professional: Laurie D. Harrison, MSEd, CFRE

VA, Piedmont: not posted

VA, Shenandoah:

  • Youth in Philanthropy: BRCC Veterinary Technology Club
  • Corporate Philanthropy: Steven & Robyn Faught, Shenandoah Automotive and Rittenhouse Auto Service
  • Spirit of Philanthropy: Debra Stiles Callison
  • Individual Philanthropy: Dr. Garner H. and Mae Frances Downey (posthumously)
  • Sandra Neff Fundraising Executive: Lisa Shull

VA, Tri-State: not posted

Return to Insights & Events